Skip to Main Content
ProQuest Databases
ProQuest Alt-Press Watch
Presents big stories from small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the political spectrum.
ProQuest Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Ebook Subscription
With thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond.
ProQuest Diversity Collection
This inclusive, user-friendly resource combines three unique full-text databases – Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch – on one award-winning platform to provide users with critical viewpoints and content often left out of mainstream sources.
ProQuest Ethnic Newswatch
Contains news, magazines, journals, and newsletters from ethnic, minority, and native presses as well as many journals concerned with issues of race and ethnicity.
ProQuest Gender Watch
Includes journals, news and newsletters featuring many important publications that have historically initiated and sustained social movements around gender and sexual identity.
HeinOnline Databases
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
The Brennan Center for Justice was founded in 1995 by former law clerks to Justice William J. Brennan, Jr., who served on the Supreme Court from 1956 to 1990. During Justice Brennan’s time on the court, he was known for his progressive views and authored several landmark case opinions, including Baker v. Carr, New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, and Texas v. Johnson. The Brennan Center seeks to continue Justice Brennan’s judicial legacy by advocating for policies that reform, revitalize and defend America’s systems of democracy and equal justice for all. Combining elements of a think tank, a legal advocacy group, and a communications group, the Center’s current work is divided into three programs of focus: Democracy, Justice, and Liberty & National Security. Their Democracy program collaborates with grassroots groups and other advocacy organizations to protect voting rights, ensure the integrity of the courts, and reform campaign finance law. The Justice program works to end mass incarceration and create a more effective justice system. Lastly, the Liberty & National Security program focuses on protecting citizens’ privacy and advocating for oversight of national security policies. NYU law students often serve as interns and work on Brennan Center projects, and NYU law faculty comprise one-third of the Center’s board of directors, in addition to working with the Center in various capacities.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
LGBTQ+ Rights
This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. To give one example, as late as 1901 Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father, because under southern law, slaves could never be legally married. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.
